Delete the pairing of Brightspace and Pearson courses


You may decide to unpair delete the pairing between a Brightspace and MyLab or Modified Mastering course. Typically, this occurs when students have access codes for one course but you paired a different course. For example, the students might have access codes for a fifth edition textbook, but the pairing is to a course using the fourth edition text. You might also need to delete the pairing if you accidentally created or copied the wrong MyLab or Modified Mastering course. 


When you delete the association between the two courses:

  • The MyLab and Modified Mastering course is permanently deleted. Any customizations you made to the course are lost.
  • The MyLab or Modified Mastering course's paired components are removed from the Pearson Tools page. However, you must remove any links that you added to the course content.
  • If any students are enrolled in the paired MyLab or Modified Mastering course, when you unpair the course all their work and grades in that course are lost.
  • When you pair the Brightspace course with a different MyLab or Modified Mastering course, the grade items from the original course remain but are not updated in future syncs. These grade items are included in the list of items to sync, which may result in duplicate items. 

After you unpair the courses, you can pair the Brightspace course with another MyLab or Modified Mastering course. Your students must enter the Brightspac ecourse, click the MyLab & Mastering course link, and enroll in the new MyLab or Modified Mastering course. 

  • If you pair the same MyLab or Modified Mastering course materials, students who already redeemed their access codes or paid with a credit card automatically gain access, although they may be asked to sign in first. Students must use the same Pearson username and password that they used to sign in to the first course. 
  • If you pair a different MyLab or Modified Mastering course materials, the enrollment process prompts students for additional payment. To ensure that they don't have to pay for the re-enrollment, contact you rPearson sales representative and request replacement access codes that match the course materials for these students.


To delete the pairing between a Brightspace course and MyLab or Modified Mastering course:

  1. Export any grade items that you need from the original MyLab or Modified Mastering course you are unpairing from the Brightspace course.
    • Note: These grades cannot be imported into your new MyLab or Modified Mastering course. Instead, you must manually change the grades in the new course.
  2. If applicable, advise students that you are un-pairing the MyLab or Modified Mastering course. 
  3. Enter the Brightspace course.
  4. Click the MyLab & Mastering widget on the Brightspace course's home page. 
  5. Under Help & Support, click Get Diagnostics. 
  6. Click Delete MyLab & Mastering course and association with Brightspace course. under Course Information.
  7. Click Yes, delete course association to remove the pairing between the Brightspace and MyLab or Modified Mastering courses and delete the MyLab or Modified Mastering course. 
  8. Refresh the page to return to MyLab and Mastering for Brightspace.